First Step Nursery & Daycare

30 Hours Free Child Care

At First Step Nursery & Daycare we will be offering the 30 hours free childcare from September 2017.  This scheme is designed to help working parents and is available to children who are 3 & 4 years old.  Parents should check if they qualify by visiting the HMRC website .  Once parents have received a confirmation that you qualify for the 30 hours, here are the options available at our setting:

Option A -6 hours/day for 5 days

7.30am – 1.30pm or

12.15pm – 6.15pm

Option B - 7.5 hours/day for 4 days

7.30am – 3.00pm or

9.30am – 5.00pm

Option C -10 hours/day for 3 days

7.30 am – 5.30pm or

8.15am – 6.15pm

The above options are term time only.  A daily charge of £1.80 applies to all children exclusively on Government funded hours (both on 15 and 30 hours).


Alternatively, if you would like your child to attend during holidays (ie Easter, summer etc) and for them to attend 7:30am-6:15pm, please find your options below.  

PRE- SCHOOL 3-5yrs

F/T Weekly& FEE`E children

F/T Monthly& FEEE children

5 Days



4 Days



3 Days



2 Days



1 Day













Please note the fee in bold is how much parents would pay if they did not receive the 30 hours discount and the second figure is once the 30 hours is applied.  This option also includes all children’s food so you do not pay anything extra for this.



Children’s learning and Development curriculum for Holmewood and Triangle Federation

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept happy and safe. Key aspect include: quality and consistency, a secure foundation, partnership working and equality of opportunity. The EYFS begins when children starts nursery school and continues through to the reception year at primary school.

There are four Overarching themes for our work with children:

A Unique Child: Every Child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationship: Children learn and develop well in enabling environments where their experiences relate to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents/carers

Learning and development: The framework covers the education and care of all children in early year’s provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities. 

There are seven areas of learning and development; three prime areas and four specific;


-Communication and language

-Physical development

-Personal, social and emotional development.




-Understanding the world, and

-Expressive arts and design.

Our aim is to empower children by providing a curriculum that encourages thinking; that offers opportunities to explore a range of experiences and ideas. Learning is often a social experience; where children learn from each other, learn how to be with each other and learn how to teach others.

When your child attends the setting for settling you will be given more information on the curriculum as well as the nursery policies and procedures. All these information are available for all existing and new parents.

For further information regarding your child’s development, please check out the links provided below.